Help Scout Alternatives for B2B SaaS in 2026

Last Updated
Published On
The usual reason a B2B SaaS team leaves Help Scout is that its customers start asking questions in Slack or Microsoft Teams. Help Scout's own documentation, updated October 18, 2026, describes its Slack integration as notifications into Slack: Slack isn't a support channel, and you can't create or manage conversations from it. This guide covers five alternatives: Plain for shared Slack and Teams channels, Pylon for Slack-heavy teams buying through sales, Front for an email-first inbox, Zendesk for large ticketing, and Intercom for messenger-first support. Plain publishes this page. Plain is the agentic infrastructure for customer work: a B2B customer support platform (help desk) for teams whose business customers use Slack, Microsoft Teams, email and chat. Every competitor fact below comes from that vendor's own published page, checked October 28, 2026.
Who actually outgrows Help Scout?
Of 26 companies we spoke with that were running Help Scout (41 conversations with B2B support leaders and engineers, June 2025 to September 2026), 24 named two or more support channels, and 21 named Slack, Microsoft Teams or Discord among them. 18 of the 26 named Slack. These are teams that came to talk to Plain, so the number describes who tends to leave, not every Help Scout customer.
The mechanism is in Help Scout's own Slack documentation. The integration posts notifications into Slack according to rules you set, connects a single Slack workspace to each Help Scout account, and doesn't let you create or manage conversations from Slack. Microsoft Teams and Discord aren't listed as channels on Help Scout's pricing page; the channels there are email, live chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger and phone via integration.
Slack customers bring three pressures with them, and the rest of this page uses them as the checklist:
The conversation happens in a shared channel, not an inbox, so a notification feed means working in two places.
Different customers are promised different response times, so SLAs have to follow the customer rather than the mailbox.
A large share of questions need an engineer, so the handoff to an issue tracker has to come back when the fix ships.
Who should stay: if your customers email you, your team is under about five people and nobody is in Slack Connect with customers, Help Scout's Standard plan at $25 per user per month (billed annually) is cheaper than Plain and does the job. Nothing below changes that.
What does Help Scout offer in 2026, and where do its plans set limits?
As of October 28, 2026, Help Scout's pricing page lists a Free plan (5 users, 1 Inbox, 1 Docs site) and three paid plans billed annually: Standard $25, Plus $45 and Pro $75 per user per month. Standard allows up to 25 users, Plus up to 50, Pro unlimited with a 10-user minimum. The trial is 15 days on Standard or Plus, with no credit card.
Plus is where the B2B features start. It groups conversations by company, adds HubSpot, Jira and Salesforce integrations plus round robin routing, and gives you two conditional SLA policies that can target a company, email domain, custom field or customer property; Pro makes the policies unlimited. Linear works on Plus and Pro. AI Answers, the customer-facing agent, is an add-on at $0.75 per resolution, with a 3-month free trial for new accounts and an optional monthly spending cap; a resolution counts once per conversation when the customer doesn't escalate or ask for more help.
The limits that matter for B2B teams
Standard gets a single basic SLA policy, without conditions. Per-customer response targets start at Plus, and Plus stops at two policies.
An SLA policy only covers conversations that start once it's in place (Help Scout SLA docs).
The Linear integration needs each Help Scout user to sign in with their own Linear account (Help Scout Linear docs).
API rate limits are 200, 400 and 800 calls per minute across the paid plans.
What should a B2B team check before choosing a Help Scout alternative?
Is Slack (and Teams) a channel, or a notification feed? Reply from the tool and confirm the reply lands in the customer's Slack thread. Then post a burst of messages and see how they become threads. Plain's default time-based mode treats messages from the same user within 2 hours, or different users within 1 hour, as one thread, and you can switch a channel to AI-based grouping, one Slack thread per Plain thread, manual emoji, or API-only (Slack ingestion modes).
Can SLAs follow the customer, not the inbox? Give one customer an Enterprise policy and check that it applies to their Slack threads and their email alike.
Does an engineering issue close the loop? Link a thread to a Linear issue, mark the issue done, and watch what happens to the thread.
Who needs a paid seat? Count the people who reply separately from the engineers, PMs and account owners who only read.
What comes across in the migration, and what doesn't? Ask for the importer's list of fields before you commit, and plan a cutover day around it.
How do the Help Scout alternatives compare?
Published list prices on annual billing, from each vendor's own page as of October 28, 2026.
Vendor | Published price (annual billing, per user/seat/agent per month) | Slack as a support channel | Microsoft Teams | SLA policies | AI agent pricing | Teammates who don't reply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Help Scout | $25 Standard / $45 Plus / $75 Pro (Free plan, 5 users) | Notifications to Slack only; not a support channel (Help Scout docs) | Not listed on pricing page | Standard 1 basic; Plus 2 with conditions; Pro unlimited | AI Answers $0.75 per resolution | Light users (up to 50 on Pro) |
Plain | $45 Foundation (up to 5 users) / $99 Horizon (3–10 users) / Frontier custom | Yes: 25 channels on Foundation, unlimited on Horizon and Frontier | Horizon and Frontier | Horizon and Frontier | Customer Agent (formerly Ari): 100 credits per resolution from the plan's monthly credits | Viewer seats free and unlimited on every plan |
Pylon | $89 Professional / $139 Advanced / Enterprise custom (annual contracts) | Slack Connect listed | Listed (plan not stated) | Listed (plan not stated) | Credits, minimum 5,000-credit commitment | Viewer seats, number set with sales |
Front | $25 Starter (up to 10 seats, single channel) / $65 Professional (up to 50) / $105 Enterprise | Listed as a channel | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Autopilot from $0.05 per conversation; Copilot $20/seat add-on | Not stated on pricing page |
Zendesk | $19 Support Team / $55 Suite Team / $115 Suite Professional | Named among Suite messaging channels | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Per automated resolution: allowance per agent, then $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go | Not stated on pricing page |
Intercom | $29 Essential / $85 Advanced / $132 Expert | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Fin $0.99 per outcome (outcomes include handoffs) | Lite seats free: 20 on Advanced, 50 on Expert |
Published list prices on annual billing, from each vendor's own pricing page and docs as of October 28, 2026. Usage charges and add-ons are separate.
Zendesk, Help Scout and Front price lowest at entry, while Plain, Pylon and Intercom differ most on how AI is metered: plan credits, a credit commitment, and per-outcome billing respectively. Plain's viewer seats are free on every plan, which matters more the more engineers read your queue.
Is Plain a good Help Scout alternative for B2B SaaS?
Plain treats Slack as a channel. Messages from the Slack channels you choose become threads in Plain, your reply posts back into the customer's Slack thread, and those threads carry the same labels, SLAs and workflows as email and can be linked to Linear, Jira or incident.io (Slack channel docs). Foundation syncs up to 25 Slack channels; Horizon and Frontier are unlimited. Microsoft Teams syncs selected Teams channels the same way on Horizon and Frontier, and needs a Microsoft 365 admin to grant consent. Discord is Frontier only.
Depot's case study covers how it manages hundreds of Slack Connect channels without a dedicated support team using Plain: Depot implemented Plain to consolidate all their Slack Connect conversations into one structured inbox (Depot case study). Northflank consolidated enterprise Slack channels, email, and in-app support into Plain, cutting first response time in half and embedding structured debugging forms directly into their product. Northflank's support now scales with 2x more of their team now having visibility into support (Northflank case study).
SLAs follow the customer because of how Plain models accounts. Tenants group customers into the organization they belong to, created from an email domain automatically, from a CRM integration or via the API, and tenant fields bring CRM or database data onto the tenant. Tiers such as Enterprise, Pro and Free sit on tenants, show on every thread from that tenant, and workflows can route by tier. SLA policies carry up to four targets (first response, next response, first resolution, total resolution), an optional warning before a target, and an optional pause outside business hours, and a workflow applies them, for example an Enterprise policy for your largest customers. SLA policies and Teams are Horizon and Frontier features. Tinybird, which migrated from JIRA to Plain in 2 days, gained real-time SLA visibility across Slack Connect, community Slack, and email (Tinybird case study).
For engineering, escalation paths define levels such as Technical Support, then Engineering, then a named engineer, set by workflow on Horizon and Frontier. When a thread is linked to a Linear issue and that issue is completed or canceled, the thread moves to Close the Loop on its own (Linear integration). Slack ingestion, tenants and Linear links can all be driven through the API, for teams that build their own tooling on top.
On AI, Plain runs two agents with a boundary between them. The Customer Agent is the customer-facing agent, available on every plan and charged per resolution at 100 credits from the plan's monthly allowance. Sidekick is the agent-facing assistant that researches and drafts across tools such as Linear, Sentry, GitHub and Datadog; it has no channel to the customer, so what it reads in your code and logs can't leak outward, and it hands off to a person or to the Customer Agent. You can also connect your own agents to the same queue and credit pool.
The awkward part: Foundation caps at 5 users and doesn't include SLA policies, Teams or escalation paths. A team leaving Help Scout for those reasons is buying Horizon at $99 per user per month billed annually, minimum 3 users, up to 10, with 2,500 credits a month on annual billing (Plain pricing). Viewer seats are free and unlimited on every plan, and the trial is 7 days with no credit card. For a direct head-to-head, see Plain vs Help Scout for startup support.
You can run the Slack and SLA checks above on your own channels with the 7-day free trial.
Is Pylon a good Help Scout alternative?
Pylon's pricing page lists Professional at $89 per seat and Advanced at $139 per seat, both billed on annual contracts, with Enterprise on a custom quote. Its agentic features (Support Agent, Assist Agent, Slack Agent and Automations) run on credits with a minimum commitment of 5,000 credits; the credit price isn't published. Channels listed include Slack Connect, Slack Community, Discord, WhatsApp, Telegram and SMS, and Microsoft Teams and SLAs appear without a plan stated. Viewer seats exist, with the number set with sales; trials go through sales, and new customers have a minimum seat count. Pylon doesn't charge per ticket.
The fit: a B2B team already living in Slack that's comfortable buying through sales with a credit commitment attached. For a detailed comparison, see Plain vs Pylon.
Is Front a good Help Scout alternative?
Front's annual pricing is $25 Starter (up to 10 seats), $65 Professional (up to 50 seats) and $105 Enterprise per seat per month. Starter is single-channel support; Professional adds omnichannel across email, SMS and social. Slack appears in Front's channel list. For AI, Copilot is a $20 per seat per month add-on on Starter and Professional and included on Enterprise, and Autopilot starts at $0.05 per conversation. Microsoft Teams and SLA policies aren't stated on the pricing page.
The fit: the closest step up for an email-first team that wants shared-inbox collaboration and has a few Slack channels on the side. If you're weighing it, read Front alternatives for B2B SaaS.
Is Zendesk a good Help Scout alternative?
Zendesk's pricing page lists Support Team at $19, Suite Team at $55 and Suite Professional at $115 per agent per month on annual billing. Suite names messaging apps including Slack among its social and business channels. AI agents are billed per automated resolution: every plan comes with an allowance per agent per month (5 or 10 on the plans that show them), then $1.50 per committed resolution or $2.00 pay-as-you-go. Teams and SLA policies aren't stated on the pricing page.
The fit: a team that wants a large, structured ticketing system and accepts the setup. For the wider field, see B2B Zendesk alternatives.
Is Intercom a good Help Scout alternative?
Intercom's annual pricing is $29 Essential (shown at $19 for new customers), $85 Advanced and $132 Expert per seat per month. Fin, the AI agent, costs $0.99 per outcome, and Intercom counts one when the customer confirms the issue is solved, when they don't come back asking for help once Fin has replied, or when Fin completes a workflow, handoffs included. Fin alone carries a minimum monthly commitment, for example 50 outcomes. Lite seats are free: 20 on Advanced, 50 on Expert. Slack, Teams and SLA policies aren't stated on the pricing page.
The fit: a team whose support starts in an in-app messenger and wants an AI agent in front of it from day one. For teams supporting business customers in Slack, see Intercom alternatives for B2B SaaS.
What does a six-person B2B support team pay?
Take a team of 6 people who reply to customers, needing SLAs that differ by customer and a link to an issue tracker. List prices, annual billing, before AI usage:
Plan | Monthly cost for 6 repliers | SLA policies on this plan, per the vendor's page | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|
Help Scout Plus | 6 × $45 = $270 | 2 policies with conditions | Slack as a support channel |
Zendesk Suite Team | 6 × $55 = $330 | Not stated on pricing page | AI resolutions beyond the allowance |
Front Professional | 6 × $65 = $390 | Not stated on pricing page | Copilot ($20/seat), Autopilot |
Intercom Advanced | 6 × $85 = $510 | Not stated on pricing page | Fin outcomes |
Pylon Professional | 6 × $89 = $534 (Pylon's page gives $89/seat on an annual contract, with no billing period) | Yes, every plan (team SLAs from Advanced) | Credit commitment (5,000 minimum) |
Plain Horizon | 6 × $99 = $594 | Yes (Horizon and Frontier) | Credits beyond the 2,500 included each month |
Plain is the most expensive line here. Against Help Scout, the extra buys Slack and Teams as channels under the same SLA policies as email. Against the whole list, Plain is the only vendor whose page states free, unlimited viewer seats on every plan, which is what the engineers who answer escalations need. Against Pylon, the difference is a published price you can trial without a sales call, versus sales-set viewer seats and a credit commitment. If your customers aren't in Slack and your engineers don't read the queue, the cheaper options win this scenario.
How do you move from Help Scout to Plain?
Plain's Help Scout importer connects under Settings → Integrations → Help Scout, one mailbox at a time. It imports end users as customers and conversations as threads, including internal notes, with statuses mapped, tags as labels, attachments and original timestamps. CSAT ratings and custom fields on conversations don't come across. Importing history doesn't trigger SLAs, auto-responses or workflows, so no SLA clock starts on an old conversation and no customer gets an email.
After the initial import, new customers, conversations, notes and tags sync hourly, but changes to existing conversations, such as status or assignee, don't. That shapes the practical plan: pick a cutover day, stop working in Help Scout that morning, let the hourly sync catch anything that arrives late, then disconnect the integration to stop syncing. Help Scout Docs articles move separately: Plain's help center takes a Markdown or HTML export, through the API or a ready-made import script (help center migration). For the steps around the import itself, see the support platform migration guide.
Fly.io made this exact move. It migrated from Help Scout to Plain and built a custom support portal using Plain's API, streamlining workflows for their 9-engineer support team and rotating on-call engineers, and its case study is titled how Fly.io saves 200+ hours of engineering time per year with Plain (Fly.io case study).
Which Help Scout alternative should you choose?
Customers in Slack Connect or Teams channels, per-customer SLAs, engineers in the loop: Plain, on Horizon.
Slack-heavy and happy to buy through sales with a credit commitment: Pylon.
Email-first team that wants collaboration on a familiar inbox: Front.
Large, structured ticketing operation with the setup time to match: Zendesk.
In-app messenger first, AI agent in front of it: Intercom.
Email-only, small team, no customers in shared channels: stay on Help Scout Standard.
If you're in the first group, book a demo and bring one real Slack Connect channel, or run the checks yourself on the 7-day trial.
Frequently asked questions
Does Help Scout support Slack as a customer support channel?
As of October 2026, Help Scout's Slack integration sends conversation notifications into Slack. Help Scout's documentation says Slack doesn't work as a channel in Help Scout, so you can't start or handle a conversation from Slack. Each Help Scout account connects a single Slack workspace.
What is the best Help Scout alternative for B2B SaaS teams that support customers in Slack?
Plain syncs chosen Slack channels into threads and posts replies back to Slack, with the same SLAs and workflows as email: 25 Slack channels on Foundation, unlimited on Horizon. Of 26 companies we spoke with that were running Help Scout (41 conversations, June 2025 to September 2026), 21 named Slack, Microsoft Teams or Discord among their support channels. Pylon and Front also list Slack.
How much does Help Scout cost compared with its alternatives?
Help Scout is $25, $45 and $75 per user per month billed annually, with a free plan for 5 users. Plain Foundation is $45 per user per month and Horizon $99 (billed annually). Pylon is $89 or $139 per seat, billed on annual contracts, Front $25 to $105, Zendesk $19 to $115, Intercom $29 to $132. All list prices as of October 28, 2026.
Can I move my Help Scout history to Plain?
Yes. Plain's Help Scout importer brings over customers, conversations with internal notes, tags as labels, attachments and original timestamps, mailbox by mailbox. CSAT ratings and custom fields don't come across, and importing doesn't trigger SLAs or auto-responses.
When should a team stay on Help Scout?
When customers reach you mostly by email, the team is small and nobody supports customers in shared Slack or Teams channels. Help Scout's Standard plan is $25 per user per month billed annually, below Plain's Foundation at $45.
